März 9, 2011

Things

Posted in Erleben um 3:35 pm von deadra

1.) It turns out Excel is a lot less deserving of my eternal fiery hatred than I had thought. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still no fun. But it turns out I could have saved a lot of not-fun-at-all-time if I had known what I was doing in the first place. Well, whaddayaknow…perhaps it isn’t actually the Prince of Office Evil, the Hastur to Access‘ Beelzebub. Or perhaps I’m overthinking this and need to be whacked over the head.

2.) I find I have more to do at the moment than I’ve had to do in the past 2 years taken together. I’m no longer accustomed to a normal person’s reasonable workload. This is exhausting. It also messes with my life in all kinds of ways, because it steals ALL of my useful Getting-Shit-Done-Time. Hence shit ain’t getting done, which is disspiriting. Somebody needs to promise me RIGHT NOW that I will get used to this eventually. Please.

3.) It has happened. I got sucked into George R.R. Martin’s „A Song of Ice and Fire“. My resistance melted, like a melting thing under a heat lamp, and all of a sudden I’m reading it and dreaming it and rooting for characters and really hoping that Catelyn would just go away already and … well, you know how it is. I haven’t even finished book 1 yet, but I’m already preemptively frustrated because I’ll have to wait YEARS to find out how it ends. (Why won’t you be my bitch, George R.R. Martin?)

4.) Found one of my old notebooks, which contains some of my unfinished stories. Since I never start a story unless I’m reasonably sure where it’s going to go and how it’s going to get there, I must have had a plan at the time. I must have. But that plan is long forgotten, and now I look at those lonely fragments and go „wtf?“. BTW – in case of my sudden death, kindly wipe my harddisk and burn my notebooks WITHOUT LOOKING INTO EITHER. Thank you.

5 Kommentare »

  1. L. said,

    I won’t burn your writing.
    I’m going to publish it posthumously and you are going to be incredibly famous but to dead to realize it. :P

    • deadra said,

      Damn you! You’d be like those „friends“ of Kafka, who totally ignored what he wanted. Except for the tiny little fact that I’m not Kafka. I’m just a sad half-hearted can’t-even-finish-a-fanfic writer.

      So…burn ‚em.

  2. L. said,

    too dead, not to.

    And, nope.

  3. kalafudra said,

    1) Told ya, Excel is actually pretty cool. The best program in Microsoft Office.
    2) I know how you feel (I got nothing to do on Sunday! How awesome is that?)
    3) You know, when we talked about it on Monday, I gave you false information. There’s one dead child at the end of book 3.
    4) I might burn it, but I’m going to look first to see if you aren’t Kafka after all. And if you are, there will be no fire. Just so you know.

    • deadra said,

      ad 2) Nothing to do? cool. Me neither ^^ (except for the ritual Excavation of the Flat, sadly needed after weeks of not getting shit done.)

      ad 3) That’s alright. I gave you false information, too. It’s not just the Stark children that are gonna die. EVERYBODY is gonna die. The last 2 books will be about a horse, a dog and a three-legged kitten, who wander postapocalyptic Westeros. Mark my words. I can see it coming from here (Book 1 – page 327).

      4) Alright…I’m safe then ^^


Schreibe einen Kommentar

