Januar 28, 2011

On Ironing

Posted in Erleben um 6:49 pm von deadra

Let me be very clear…ironing is evil. In the pantheon of Chores I Loathe, ironing takes the cake. I can’t really tell you why, because vacuuming is noisier and dishes are waaay more frequent, but there’s something about ironing that makes my soul cry.

So I tried sitting down and doing it while watching TV, on the theory that it isn’t work if you don’t have to give it your full attention.

Then I got back up again, because doing that shit while sitting down is, if anything, even more evil. Something about those movements is just plain unnatural. It made me itch and ache and feel really silly…so ironing while standing up it has always been, ironing while standing up it shall always be.

My mother disagrees: „Wait until your first pregnancy, then you’ll definitely sit down, and you won’t ever want to change it back.“

I don’t think so. First of all, there might not be a first pregnancy, ever. (So there.)
And secondly, even if there is a pregnancy, first or n-th, I think that ought to be a legitimate excuse for just about everything. As in: „I’m sorry, I can’t do this. Why? BECAUSE I’M BUSY MAKING A HUMAN BEING, THAT’S WHY.“ (preferably said while lying comfortably on a couch, with a teacup balanced on my round belly). So…no ironing while pregnant. (The more I think about it, the more that becomes an actual point in favour of having children at some point ^.~)

Overthinking this? Who, me?!

6 Kommentare »

  1. L. said,

    Warum bügelst du?
    Warum kriegst du Briefe aus Harvard?
    Und wann sehen wir uns wieder?

    • deadra said,

      Ich bügle, weil ich gerne Zeug anziehe, das gebügelt ist. Das ist es mir wert. Knapp, aber doch.

      Ich bekomm Briefe aus Harvard, weil der/die zuständige BriefträgerIn den Unterschied zwischen 21 und 23 in der Adresse nicht erkennt. (Heute war der Brief schon wieder bei mir im Briefkasten…morgen liefere ich ihn persönlich ab, glaub ich.)

      Und wann wir uns wiedersehen weiß ich noch nicht. Mal schauen. Bald, hoffentlich :)

  2. L. said,

    @ „I’m sorry, I can’t do this, I’m pregnant“:
    Rate mal, wann (bzw in welchen Zustand) ich meinen ersten Kampf gegen einen Schwarzgürtler gewonnen habe.
    Ich glaube, ich gewinne mit dieser Story jeden Unverantwortlichkeitscontest. Muss zu meiner Verteidigung sagen, dass ich es da noch nicht wusste (ha,das klingt jetzt deutlich verantwortungsbewusster… :D).

    • deadra said,

      I’m not saying you should sit around and not do anything, except be pregnant.

      I’m saying it should be a convenient card to play when you want to get out of a chore you don’t like.

      Sort of like this: If you don’t want to do the ironing/dishes/nuclear war, you say „Sorry, I’m working on a particularly difficult nerve cluster right now – have to focus on this.“ (while pointing at the bump in a meaningful way).
      But if you want to defeat evil/climb a mountain/play Guitar Hero, you say „It’s perfectly alright – the code’s still compiling.“
      ( http://xkcd.com/303/ )

      And anyway – everybody knows pregnant women are most fearsome creatures ^.~

      • L. said,

        Pregnant women are most fearsome creatures. <3
        Definitely.

        PS: Playing the pregnancy card makes other women hate you. Just saying.

      • deadra said,

        I know…it’s depressing.


Schreibe einen Kommentar

