August 24, 2010

Reading Meme

Posted in Erleben um 7:16 pm von deadra

via kalafudra

1. Favourite childhood book: Lots. Maybe „Mio, my Mio“, by Astrid Lindgren?

2. What are you reading right now? Technically, „Northern Lights“, by Pullman, but I left it in Vienna, and I haven’t started anything here, yet. (I can’t decide.)

3. What books do you have on request at the library? I don’t use libraries. Libraries are for people who know what book they want to read before they pick it up to actually read. I am not one of those people. My hand will sort of wander aimlessly over the ouija-board of my bookshelf and touch down somewhere…eventually.

4. Bad book habit: I leave books the bathroom floor , which I only recognized as a bad habit when the washing mashine flooded said bathroom a few months ago. (*sniff*) I’m also lethal to dustcovers.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? See above.

6. Do you have an e-reader? No. I read books on the computer (primarily if I don’t want to spend money on them – *cough*anitablakeandsookiestackhouse*cough*), but I don’t have an e-reader. The e-reader I’d want hasn’t been built yet.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? One at a time. But I admit that I will put books down even though I’m somewhere in the middle, then read two or three (or twelve) other books, then pick up where I left off.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? No.

9.Least favourite book you read this year: „The Difference Engine“…I haven’t finished it, yet, and I’m not sure I ever will. On the one hand I want to know what’s happening with the weather. But having to read the book just to find out how it ends seems like too high a price to pay.

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year: „The City and The City“ by China Mieville, hands down.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? By choice, never. As a feeble defense, my comfort zone is an oddly-shaped, multi-genre construct.

4 Kommentare »

  1. kalafudra said,

    How can you stand being in an entirely different place from the only book you’re reading?

    • deadra said,

      It was really, really painful at first, but then something sort of snapped, and now the book and I can be far away from each other and still know that we’re there for each other and that we love each other.

      Seriously, though, it helps that it’s a re-read. I know what’s coming, so the suspense isn’t exactly killing me ^^

      • kalafudra said,

        I get that you pause reading a book. I can even kind of understand that you’d forget it. But to not start reading another book in the meantime – any book – that just astonishes me.

      • deadra said,

        I haven’t started a new one because I haven’t decided on which one it’s going to be. I’m not as physically addicted to having a book near me at all times as you are.

        And it’s not as if I haven’t been reading. I had 250+ items in my reader, and there were 20+ fanfics I’d been meaning to read. I’ve been quite busy reading ^^


Schreibe einen Kommentar

