Juni 7, 2010

Bookish Meme

Posted in Erleben um 8:09 pm von deadra

I got it from kalafudra, who got it from liberrydwarf.

Do you snack while reading? No. Small hands and paperbacks mean I’d need somebody to feed me. And being fed while reading would be weird.

What is your favourite drink while reading? I don’t have one. But there has to be something within reaching distance, and there has to be plenty of it.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you? Frankly, the idea of writing in books makes me cringe.

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat? Bookmarks. I don’t need my books to look immaculate after I’ve read them, but I will keep them as unharmed as possible.

Fiction, non-fiction or both? Fiction. Just fiction. The more fictional, the better.

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere? I prefer to read to the end of the chapter, if I can. The end of the paragraph will do in a pinch, but only then. My family has learned to ask: „When can you put the book down?“ rather than „Can you put the book down?“ Smart people ^_^

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you? I’ve had the urge, but I’ve never done it. I probably won’t, either. Unless the author happens to be standing where I can hit them with it, in which case all bets are off.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away? No. They usually make sense in context, and if they don’t, and it bugs me enough (which it rarely does), I may look them up when I’ve come to the end of the chapter.

What are you currently reading? „Oscar Wilde and the Dead Man’s Smile“ by Giles Brandreth. (Which, as it turns out, is the THIRD installment in a series, only Hodder couldn’t be arsed to point that out ANYWHERE on the cover – or inside it, for that matter – , so now I’ve started the series with the third book, and I should put it down and start with the first one, only I can’t actually put it down, because it’s interesting, and I don’t have the first one yet anyway,  so AAAAAAARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!)

What is the last book you bought? „Oscar Wilde and the Dead Man’s Smile“, and „The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories“

Do you have a favourite time/place to read? I love to read in the bathtub. Other than that, nothing special. Except I absolutely cannot read in bed before sleeping, because reading keeps me awake…I’ve been known to read through the night without meaning to.

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones? Both? Stand-alones are especially great if there’s more to be read by the same author. Series are especially great if each book can also be enjoyed on its own (but please, please, PLEASE, write the fucking number on the cover!!!)

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over? I don’t know. I like to give recommendations, but I try to base my recommendations on the taste of the person I’m recommending to. I’m not above trying to nudge them a bit, though ^^

How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)? „Organize“? What do you mean, „organize“? I had those grand ideas about categories when I got my new bookshelves…there was Non-fiction, German-language Fiction, English-language Fiction, French-language Fiction, Sci-Fi and Fantasy, and Favourites. That lasted for about two weeks. Since then there has been the single category of „Shelf“ *sigh*

6 Kommentare »

  1. kalafudra said,

    Now I’m really happy that you stole Oscar Wilde and the Dead Man’s Smile from me in the bookshop. ;)
    I hate it when that happens and when publishers don’t put the series sequence SOMEWHERE in the book, ideally on the cover.

    • deadra said,

      „Stole“?!? There was no stealing involved. There was a realistic discussion of who’d read it first and then lend it to the other.

      Let’s just be clear on this.

      *flounce*

      • kalafudra said,

        Well but only after I said „look what a cool book I found“ and you looked and took.

      • deadra said,

        I looked and instantly wanted, yes. And then I took because we both agreed that you wouldn’t read it immediately, but I would.

        So, basically, I bought it, I’m reading it right now, and next time I come to Vienna I’ll bring it with me so it can comfortably wait for you just the way it would have done all along had you been the one to buy it.

      • kalafudra said,

        Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. Only stating facts. :)

  2. L said,

    I can feel the geek within you rising, brushing the very air with geek-power.


Schreibe einen Kommentar

