Januar 30, 2010

Oh wow.

Posted in Erleben um 9:49 am von deadra

I love this thread. And this one.

Allow me to add my own example here:

You may be a mansplainer if, in the middle of a discussion about politics, you look at me earnestly and say: „Well, you have to understand that nationalism is actually quite a recent concept.“

Me: „I know.“

You: „Yeah, but *really*, it only became a mainstream idea during the second half of the 19th century…“

Me: I know.

You: „…before that there wasn’t really such a thing as nation states.“

Me: „I *know*.“

You: „Huh?“

(To be fair, I only found out afterwards that he really didn’t know what my degree was in, but it just felt so ridiculous while it was happening.)

6 Kommentare »

  1. kalafudra said,

    The Mansplainer stuff is awesome. Absolutely ridiculous and infuriating but totally awesome.

    I’ve been trying to think of examples that happened to me – and I know it did happen to me – but I can’t think of anything concrete.

    Just a sub-type of the Mansplainer, the Mantalker:
    Me: So, that’s the problem.
    Electrician: (looks at male flatmate) Okay, so here’s what we’re gonna do.
    Me: And how long will that take?
    Electrician: (looks at male flatmate) About 15 minutes.
    15 minutes later.
    Me: So, was it what you think it was?
    Electrician: (looks at male flatmate) Yes.

    And once I had this awesome conversation:
    Me: My internet connection doesn’t work. I tried rebooting the computer and rebooting the modem, every cable is connected the way it should be and I also checked the IP configuration.
    Internet helpline guy: Okay, is the modem plugged in?
    Me: *headdesk*

    • deadra said,

      You can’t remember specific examples? Interesting. I keep remembering more of them.

      Like the ÖAMTC guy who complained about silly wimminz calling him because of a flat tire – because they’re too silly to change it themselves. (The fact that we had neither a jack nor a tire iron didn’t stop his tirade…I suppose that if we had been men, we’d have gotten it done with our penises and our teeth, or something.)

      Or the helpful guy who explained to me that the little cross-shape on the head of that screw meant that I should use something called a Kreuzschlitzschraubenschlüssel, which was a screwdriver with a cross-shaped blade. Who’d have thought?

      • kalafudra said,

        My brother really is an expert when it comes to mansplaining. But he knows that I know so much more than him (does tha sound arrogant?) that he doesn’t try with me.

        And no, still no specific examples.

  2. L said,

    Wunderbare Beschreibung, Deadra.

    Ich lieb das auch ganz besonders, wenn mir wer einen Vortrag über etwas hält, was jeder durchschnittliche Maturant weiß.
    Und selbst wenn man vorspult und das sagt, was er in vier Sätzen sagen wird, kann er trotzdem nicht auf diesen Satz verzichten.

    @ Kalafudra: Die helpline-Typen sparen sich diese beleidigenden Fragen bei mir. Immerhin.
    Aber als ich unser Haus gekauft habe (!!!! GNAAAH!!!!), wollte der Sohn der Verkäuferin darüber mit meinem Mann reden. Woraufhin dieser lobenswerterweise gesagt hat, dass alles Gescäftliche mit mir zu besprechen ist.
    Mir fiele noch einiges ein.

    • kalafudra said,

      Wenn sich die Typen das bei dir sparen, hast du echt Glück. Ich könnt sie jedes Mal fast erwürgen.

      • L said,

        Das L-Stimmtraining Modul 3 (Telefonstimme) kann dir hier helfen.

        Naaaa, wahrscheinlich hab ich nur Glück gehabt.


Schreibe einen Kommentar

