Januar 20, 2010

20 Animated Music Videos

Posted in Erleben, Hören, Sehen um 11:22 am von deadra

a.k.a. The One Where I Make A List

I couldn’t sleep last night, and this is what my mind decided to dwell on. It could have been worse.
Soo…I give you 20 animated music videos. They aren’t ranked or in much of an order, instead, I tried to make them as different as I could, to keep things interesting. I only put in stand-alone videos, not those that are part of a larger animated project, so there’ll be no Daft Punk or Pink Floyd. I also only picked music I appreciate, because I can’t enjoy brilliant animation if the music drives me crazy.

Anyway…find the list after the jump.

1. Paul McCartney – We all stand together

This is probably one of the first things I remember seeing on TV…it stuck with me because it had a frog orchestra, which made it the best thing in the world, obviously.
2. Moby – Why does my heart feel so bad

All together now: Aaaawwwwwww!

3. A-ha – Take on Me

You didn’t think I’d leave this one off the list, did you?
4. The Knife – We Share Our Mother’s Health

This one freaked me out to no end the first time I saw it. Very, very striking.

5. Architecture in Helsinki – Do the Whirlwind

Kawaiiiiiiii!!! I like Zombie-Girl best. How about you?

6. Chemical Brothers – The Salmon Dance

I can never decide which is better…the beatboxing blowfish or the face of the guy who’s watching.

7. Interpol – Rest My Chemistry

It’s like one of those media player visualizations…only awesome.

8. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication

Because there’s snowboarding on Golden Gate Bridge and they ride a dragonfly. What’s not to like?

9. Ken Ishii – Extra

This video was inspired by Akira, and it shows. Sailor Moon this is not ^.~

10. Junior Senior – Move Your Feet

This video was done in Paint Deluxe. Let me repeat for emphasis: They Made This In Paint. Paint!!!

11. Röyksopp – Remind Me

I bet you’ve never thought about how many infographics surround you every day, right?

12. Tool – Sober

Yes, I occasionally listen to Tool…I just tune out the eyeroll-worthy lyrics. The video looks amazing, in a dark and sick and twisted way.

13. Pet Shop Boys – Love etc

This is on the list for two reasons: 1) The sheer WTF?!? of it and 2) the unending fun you can get from suddenly going „Da-dap-di-daaaa!!!!“ (complete with manic arm-flapping) at unsuspecting people.

14. Fujiya & Miyagi – Ankle Injuries

Yes, in case you were wondering, those really are dice.

15. Pearl Jam – Do The Evolution

We’ve had anime…now here’s just about the best of what they do in the US.

16. Mylène Farmer – C’est une belle journée

I just like the look of this one. It’s simple and it’s cute. And that dog (sheep?) is adorable.

17. Gnarls Barkley – Crazy

I confess, I can’t stand to listen to this track anymore. It’s been played to death and beyond. But the video is still amazing.

18. Gorillaz – Clint Eastwood

Out of all their videos, I chose this one, because it was the first. (Okay…and because it has zombie-gorillas dancing „Thriller“)

19. Mika – Lollipop

Look at it! I mean, just…look at it!!! :)

20. Incubus – Dig

This one is actually the winner of a fan contest…and a worthy one, too, I think.

5 Kommentare »

  1. L said,

    Du hast wieder die Schlaflosigkeit? :(
    Um wieder mal meinen Paternalismus (gibt es Maternalismus?) zu beweisen, empfehle ich Spaziergänge in der kühlen Winterluft, ausreichend Flüssigkeitszufuhr und Sport. Hehe, oder ich borg dir mal meine Kinder.

    • deadra said,

      Also ich bin ganz sicher, dass es Maternalismus gibt. Und wenn nicht, dann müsste es schleunigst in den allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch.

      Und es ist eigentlich nicht so schlimm. Mein Schlaf hat sich eigentlich nur verschoben…ich schlafe erst zwischen 4 und 6 ein, aber dafür komm‘ ich auch erst um 11 aus dem Bett. Das ist unpraktisch, weil ich so sogar für meine Verhältnisse recht viel nützlichen Tag verliere.

      Aber, wie gesagt, nicht schlimm :)

  2. kalafudra said,

    Genial.

  3. […] 20 Animated Music Videos. […]

  4. RexKwondo said,

    Cool collection.
    You may also enjoy this animated music video by LJ Stuff

    Cheers
    Rex


Kommentar verfassen

