August 28, 2009

Reviews are FUN!!!

Posted in Lesen um 10:08 pm von deadra

I try to avoid reading movie reviews before seing the actual movie.
Instead, I go see it, and then afterwards I read the reviews and have a great time deciding whether the reviewer is right or wrong. (More than half the time, they’re wrong*.)

Still…I’ve just been browsing Roger Ebert’s archives for hours. It is now way past my bedtime, but it was worth it. Soooo worth it.
For the record, Ebert isn’t wrong as often as his colleagues (he liked „The Cell“, for instance), but he still gets it wrong on occasion (I don’t  actually know what’s worse … liking „The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor“, or admitting to liking „The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor“). But regardless of whether or not he gets it right, his reviews are always well written and funny as hell. Seriously…go browse. Here’s a gem to get you started.

*“Wrong“ being defined as not echoing my personal opinion of the movie, which I will have reached through studious application of my own (arbitrary and admittedly strange and not-exactly-mainstream) Movie Quality Criteria.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

