Juni 24, 2009

File under: Neighbours, the hatred of

Posted in Erleben um 7:10 am von deadra

Last night, I couldn’t sleep for a long time. I eventually drifted off to sleep after having looked at the clock about ten million times until 2:43 am.

But half an hour after that, our downstairs neighbour – let’s call him Joe, to make this easier – decided that he needed to watch TV. And he had either gone temporarily deaf, or he was too drunk to notice the volume, because it was loud. Really loud. So I lay in bed, at quarter past three in the fucking morning, tired and very cranky, while some ridiculously happy people on somebody else’s TV attempted to sell me useless crap. Seriously…it was loud enough for me to understand what they were saying, even though I didn’t want to.

I got up and did the Worst Irish Tap Dance Ever in the living room, in hopes of letting him know that I didn’t appreciate the shopping advice, but there was no reaction. Various thoughts ran through my head at that point: Doesn’t that guy have to go to work tomorrow? Why invent the ninety-seventh „totally revolutionary“ piece of plastic to help slice potatoes? Could Mum go down there and kill him/make him stop?

Somebody (maybe it was Mum, I don’t know, I was back in bed, with a pillow and my blanket over my head, groaning and cursing) must have made it stop eventually, because we got some peace just before 4 am. I heaved a sigh of relief and went back to project Sleep.

And guess what? At eight o’clock this morning, another set of neighbours, a concerned couple, stood in the garden underneath by bedroom, banging on Joe’s windows and yelling „Joe? Joe!!!!!!!?“ at the top of their lungs. Because Joe hadn’t come in to work.

So here I am…wide awake and in a very, very bad mood after a little less than 4 hours of sleep, with two thoughts running through my head:

1) It might be better if I didn’t see Joe today, or for the rest of the week, for that matter.
2) Was the world really waiting for an extra-special, 4-CD special edition, super special, platinum box set containing all those beloved (and special) hits by Marc Pircher?

2 Kommentare »

  1. L said,

    Joe should be vvvery careful :P

  2. kalafudra said,

    Who the fuck is Marc Pircher?


Schreibe einen Kommentar

