Juni 8, 2009

Meme-Time !!!

Posted in Erleben um 10:01 pm von deadra

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? As always, this one’s from kalafudra.

Recommend 4 books.

I should pick books that haven’t come up in other memes yet, right? It’s a good thing I was cleaning & re-arranging my bookshelf today…so here are four books that made me smile when I handled them today.
1. „If Nobody Speaks Of Remarkable Things“ by Jon McGregor. A single day in the lives of the inhabitants of a street somewhere in England. I especially loved the descriptions. They’re absolutely beautiful.
2. „Possession“ by A.S. Byatt. A literaty masterpiece, and one of my favourite romances. Not the easiest read if English isn’t your first language, but it’s worth it.
3. „The Blackwater Lightship“ by Colm Toibin. I can’t remember where I got that one, but I’m incredibly glad I did. I don’t normally read family stories, but this one pulled me in right away.

Funny coincidence: That’s two Booker shortlisters and one Booker winner, from back in the good old days, when the Booker judges worked exclusively for me ^_^

4. „The Gun Seller“ Hugh Laurie. ‚Cause he’s brilliant.

What’s the last thing you said aloud?

Good night!

What’s on your playlist?

Torchwood Original Television Soundtrack.

…going to do next?

I hear my bed calling to me. And since it’s had a tough day, what with being stripped and folded and pushed around and covered in stuff, then covered in dust, then used as a step-ladder, then brutally vacuum-cleaned before being made into a bed again…I think I can oblige it just this once ^^

How about lunch?

It’s quarter to midnight, so I’ll pass, thank you.

Holidays?

Sure! You’re paying? I’ve got my passport right here, and my bag right there…lead on!

1 Kommentar »

  1. kalafudra said,

    I like your recommendations – though I haven’t read „If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things“ yet. Though I’m pretty sure it sits on my bookshelf and stares at me reproachfully.


Schreibe einen Kommentar

