Februar 10, 2009

More Meme-ing

Posted in Erleben um 10:24 pm von deadra

I got this one from kalafudra, and I’m using her rules.

1. Started your own blog [Three times…two are up, one is dead and deleted.]
2. Slept under the stars [if clouds count?]
3. Played in a band
4. Visited Hawaii
5. Watched a meteor shower [a small one]
6. Given more than you can afford to charity
7. Been to Disneyland/world
8. Climbed a mountain [I hiked up. And I didn’t like it. But I live in the Alps – some things you just can’s get out of]
9. Held a praying mantis [ewwww]
10. Sang a solo [It’s what happens when you sing in a group, in front of everybody’s parents and grannies, and everybody else forgets the lyrics, and the ground stubbornly refuses to open up and swallow you.]
11. Bungee jumped
12. Visited Paris [Die-hard Francophile here!]
13. Watched a lightning storm at sea
14. Taught yourself an art from scratch
15. Adopted a child [I haven’t thought about it much. I’m still too young to be allowed, anyway.]
16. Had food poisoning [my first – and last – doner kebap]
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty [Walk? I’d have to walk???]
18. Grown your own vegetables
19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France [Where else would I see it? Overrated.]
20. Slept on an overnight train [If you can call it „sleep“ – I need to be stationary to sleep properly.]
21. Had a pillow fight [and stuffed animal fights, and lego house fights…blood was spilled.]
22. Hitch hiked
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill
24. Built a snow fort [snow forts, snow perimeters, snow observation posts,…]
25. Held a lamb [chicks, kids (as in little goats), a calf…I can’t remember a lamb, so probably not.]
26. Gone skinny dipping
27. Run a Marathon [I don’t run. Kalafudra would run if chased by a mad swordsman. I wouldn’t. I would faint.]
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice
29. Seen a total eclipse
30. Watched a sunrise or sunset [who hasn’t?]
31. Hit a home run [See my above note on running. Also, I wouldn’t be able to hit the ball.]
32. Been on a cruise
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person
34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors
35. Seen an Amish community [why would I want to do that?]
36. Taught yourself a new language [taught myself? I guess not.]
37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied [I’m a true consumer. I’m never truly satisfied for any length of time.]
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person
39. Gone rock climbing
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David
41. Sung karaoke
42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt
43. Bought a stranger a meal in a restaurant
44. Visited Africa
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight
46. Been transported in an ambulance [Once with my chin full of broken glass after a car accident – that was pretty cool (shock will do that for a kid); and a few more times when I’d broken my leg – being horizontal in the back of an ambulance that goes up and down a mountain made me discover whole new levels of nausea.]
47. Had your portrait painted [Well…drawn, when I was a child. It’s a family tradition.]
48. Gone deep sea fishing
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person [it’s pretty ingenious, really. It’s so crowded that the only direction you can really look is up ^^]
50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris
51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling
52. Kissed in the rain
53. Played in the mud [Who hasn’t?? Seriously…if there is someone who hasn’t, they’re welcome to come visit so we can remedy that.]
54. Gone to a drive-in theater
55. Been in a movie [People have to trick me into letting my picture be taken. Movies are out of the question. Nevertheless, I have taken the time to prepare my Oscar Acceptance Speech.]
56. Visited the Great Wall of China
57. Started a business
58. Taken a martial arts class [Karate]
59. Visited Russia
60. Served at a soup kitchen [same as kalafudra – for a school project in 10th grade]
61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies [That isn’t done here. And we didn’t even have Girl Scouts where I live, so I didn’t have to not join ^^]
62. Gone whale watching
63. Gotten flowers for no reason [Normally, I’d say that there’s always a reason. But I was once handed a rose by a lady who stood on the street handing out beautiful roses to passers-by. She didn’t give a reason, but it was nice :) ]
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma [They took blood from me before an operation, and it passed it on when I didn’t need it. I won’t donate now because I’m phobic about needles. I also have something slightly wrong with my blood so I probably wouldn’t be allowed anyway.]
65. Gone sky diving [Falling is Not Good.]
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp [I’m Austrian…it’s part of the curriculum.]
67. Bounced a check [I think we stopped using checks in Austria when I was in primary school.]
68. Flown in a helicopter [I’d love to do that.]
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy [Lots. All of the favourites, actually.]
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial
71. Eaten Caviar [people pay money for that stuff?!?]
72. Pieced a quilt
73. Stood in Times Square
74. Toured the Everglades
75. Been fired from a job [I don’t intend to…]
76. Seen the Changing of the Guard in London
77. Broken a bone [just once, but I made that one count.]
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle [I’m neither suicidal nor insane.]
79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person
80. Published a book [One of my short stories was published in an anthology. Does that count?]
81. Visited the Vatican [It was sort of a pre-requisite to seeing the Sistine Chapel. And St Peter. And the Museum.]
82. Bought a brand new car
83. Walked in Jerusalem
84. Had your picture in the newspaper [*cringe*]
85. Read the entire Bible [Most of it, but not all. I’ll probably end up having read it all, but I don’t plan on doing it deliberately.]
86. Visited the White House
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating [Oysters, hehe. They count, even if I only opened them and added a dash of lemon.]
88. Had chickenpox [On my 19th birthday, when I was old enough for it to be really bad.]
89. Saved someone’s life [I hope I never need to.]
90. Sat on a jury
91. Met someone famous [For a given value of „famous“]
92. Joined a book club [What kalafudra said: A private kind of book club, where we’d dissect the books of one Vampire Executioner.]
93. Lost a loved one [One grandfather and a cousin who was my own age.]
94. Had a baby [Not yet. Maybe not ever. Some days babies scare me. On other days I want one Right This Minute.]
95. Seen the Alamo in person
96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake
97. Been involved in a lawsuit [not really involved, no]
98. Owned a cell phone [oh come on!]
99. Been stung by a bee [again…who hasn’t?]

1 Kommentar »

  1. Pamela Poole said,

    Bonjour Deadra.

    Regarding item #12…

    I thought you might like to know about http://www.francophilia.com, the social network for francophiles.

    You can also follow us on Twitter for daily French culture bites and francophile treats! @francophilia

    Merci et à bientôt.

    Pamela Poole (LaGoulue)
    Founder


Schreibe einen Kommentar

